A Medicine for Melancholy

This table lists the contents of A Medicine for Melancholy, and links to adaptations of the stories in various media.

Details of First publication
(and other notes)
In a Season of Calm Weather

  First published as “The Picasso Summer”, Playboy, January 1957

The Dragon

    Esquire, August 1955
A Medicine for Melancholy

  (First appearance.)

The End of the Beginning

    First published as "Next Stop: The Stars", Maclean’s, October 27 1956
The Wonderful Ice-Cream Suit     First published as "The Magic White Suit", Saturday Evening Post, October 4 1958
Fever Dream     Weird Tales, September 1948.
The Marriage Mender     Collier's, January 22 1954
The Town Where No One Got Off Ray Bradbury Theater   Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, October 1958
A Scent of Sarsaparilla     Star Science Fiction Stories #1, ed. Frederik Pohl, Ballantine 1953

Icarus Montgolfier Wright

    The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, May 1956.
The Headpiece     Lilliput, May 1958

Dark They Were, and Golden-eyed

    First published as "The Naming of Names", Thrilling Wonder Stories, August 1949.

The Smile

    Fantastic, Summer 1952
The First Night of Lent     Playboy, March 1956
The Time of Going Away     The Reporter, November 29 1956
All Summer in a Day     The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March 1954.
The Gift Steve Canyon   Esquire, December 1952
The Great Collision of Monday Last     Contact, January 1958
The Little Mice     First published as "The Mice", Escapade, October 1955
The Shore Line at Sunset     First published as "The Sunset Harp", The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March 1959

The Strawberry Window

    Star Science Fiction Stories #3, ed. Frederik Pohl, Ballantine 1954
The Day it Rained Forever     Harper’s, July 1957

A Medicine for Melancholy

First published by Doubleday in 1959. (The similar UK book The Day it Rained Forever, with slightly different contents, was first published a few days later.)

Picture shows Bantam paperback edition (date unknown).

Avon paperback, 1998.


Denoel edition, France.


Diogenes edition, Germany 1996.


Bantam edition.

home books film&tv audio links about this site

(c) Phil Nichols 2004

Page updated 30 June, 2009